Update on the Single Accreditation System

Update on the Single Accreditation System

As we progress toward the Single Accreditation System, it’s important to understand that the continued growth and success of our profession depends on osteopathic GME programs transitioning to ACGME with Osteopathic Recognition.

The numbers so far are encouraging.

As of June 8th, 2016:

  • 74 sponsoring institutions and 177 AOA postdoctoral training programs have applied for ACGME accreditation
  • 70 percent of the sponsoring institutions reviewed have received initial accreditation, which includes several Osteopathic Postdoctoral Training Institutions (OPTIs)
  • Half of the reviewed training programs have received initial accreditation, representing twelve specialties: anesthesiology, dermatology, diagnostic radiology, emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine, OB/GYN, ophthalmology, orthopedic surgery, osteopathic NMM, otolaryngology, pediatrics, surgery and urology
  • 36 programs have received Osteopathic recognition, including 7 ACGME programs

Click here for state info and more details.

2017-03-10T15:06:15+00:00 June 8th, 2016|0 Comments

Leave A Comment